Konza Prairie

Sitting in the office all day (even if I’m not overly stressed out or working too hard) can be a drag and leave me worn out, and all I want to do on the weekends is hide in bed and relax. Not to brag or anything, but I’ve done a great job of pushing past that feeling and taking every opportunity to appreciate the experiences and opportunities that Kansas has to offer. I’m pretty proud of the fact that I’ve gotten better at getting “out there” and “doing things.”

So, you guessed it. Yesterday was another Adventure Day! A handful of us decided on a whim to drive out to the Konza Prairie and hike the public trails. It was semi-warm when we left the dorm, but by the time we got a mile or two into the hike, it was hot. Not to mention that Konza is pretty hilly, and, it being a prairie and all, there aren’t as many trees as I’m used to having for shade. It was a great workout though: we trekked about five miles overall. I don’t think I’ve sweated so much in my life, and I’m feeling the ache a bit today!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a million times worth it, as the views were gorgeous, and it was a great way to spend time with some of the squad. After the fact, we rewarded ourselves with spaghetti and garlic bread for Sunday dinner, followed by ice cream.

Even though I was initially tempted to just stay inside and skip the adventure, it was well worth it, and far more fulfilling than an afternoon in would have been. After all, I only have one more weekend here!

IMG_4868

I’m super pumped to be home. I’m sending lots of love!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU, Kansas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

