Progress

When I sat down at my computer in the office on Monday morning, I signed in to my email and was greeted with the beautiful sight of a message from my mentor… Over the weekend, he had not only made multiple pages of edits on my paper, but he had also run the regression on our data, meaning that I finally had some results!

This week, I have been a writing-and-working machine. I’ve made so much progress and I feel really good about where we are in the research process. I have 18 pages of 1.5-spaced goodness and I’m so so close to being done. In the meantime, I’ve been working on developing a poster and also coding a webpage (which, obviously, I will share with you guys when it’s done), both of which are basically just two different formats of the paper I’ve already written.

Wednesday, we took the day off to visit Lee Scheufler Farm and Kansas Ethanol (a biorefinery plant in the Hutchinson area).

The farm tour was basically what you’d expect, but it was definitely the highlight of the day. We were led around by a tall guy in jeans and a big belt, and we got to run around between stalks of corn and sit on really big tractors. It was beautiful.

Barn Corn

At Kansas Ethanol, we took a tour with the president of the company, which was cool, but I didn’t really understand much of what was going on because it was pretty chemistry-heavy! I’m here for the economics… I stayed near the back of the group with another Econ friend and a Sociology major, and we joked with each other about how confused we were.

Other than that, not much has been going on here! I’ll be home in two weeks, which I know will fly by. I’m a little sad that the program will be over, but mostly happy to be home with the people I love (and relaxing).

I’m sending lots of love,

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU, Kansas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progress

  1. Margaret Connolly says:

    Maggie, We look forward to seeing you. Glad You’re enjoying this experience and that you are learning and expanding your horizons. Love you Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

