Paper Writing and Field-Tripping

I had a meeting with my faculty mentor (Dr. Vincent) last week and we talked about what my final products would look like and how we would eventually get there. Today, my graduate student mentor (Frank) laid out a more specific schedule for the next few weeks… and honestly, there are only a few weeks left until I am completely done! Five weeks from today, I’ll just be putting the finishing touches on my paper, I’ll present my work for the following few days, and then I’ll be flying on home.

It’s amazing how much time has flown by since I arrived in Kansas. Yeah, sometimes the workday can move pretty slowly, especially on my reading days, but I’ve been here for a month and it feels like yesterday that I was just moving in. I attribute this to the fact that I’m having a really great time.

Some fun updates:

(1) Today is the four-week anniversary of my arrival in Kansas.

(2) I have started writing my research paper and I’m about a page and a half in! The final product has to be at least 10 pages long (single-spaced woot woot), so I still have a ways to go, but I’m proud of how far I got today and I know that the rest of it won’t be that bad.

(3) Today we visited the on-campus nuclear reactor and got a pretty interesting tour. The reactor itself is like a giant vat of water 20+ feet deep (with technical science stuff inside, of course), and it looked super intense from above. I was a little nervous (because hello radiation), but the operators assured us that it was safe. Humans are exposed to a natural amount of radiation every day (by doing random stuff like being in a concrete room or eating bananas or being around other humans) and the reactor emits only a negligible amount. Also nobody fell in the reactor, which was a plus.

(4) Tomorrow is a FIELD TRIP DAY, which I think is a great way to break up the work week into more manageable two-day segments. The squad is going to Hesston, Kansas to visit AGCO (a place that makes tractors) and also to stop by the Russell Stover Chocolate Store on the way home. Road tripping for tractors and chocolate, what a great way to spend the day. (I can’t wait to tell you guys about it.)

I am sending lots of love!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU, Kansas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

