Economics Research

The past week has been by no means busy, so I don’t really have any excuse for taking a whole week off from posting, but honestly, time has been flying and I didn’t even realize that it had been a whole week since I last showed up on here. It probably doesn’t help that all of my work days go the same… I’ll tell you what I’m doing in a minute.

Dr. Vincent and I played email tag quite a bit for a few days, in an attempt to set up another meeting and figure out what my next steps would be in the research. When we finally did meet up and chat, he spent the whole time discussing the articles I’ve been reading, how to find more, how to track my reading, and how to read effectively. I walked out of that meeting yesterday morning and it finally hit me: that’s what I’ll be doing this summer. Reading. Now if you know me, you know that I was an avid reader for the entirety of my childhood and early teenage years. I will admit that reading fell to the wayside (from its former place as a semi-obsessive hobby) when I bloomed a bit and developed an actual social life in high school.

I still love to dive into a good book and hide there for a little while, but curling up in bed with a book that I chose for personal pleasure is a lot different than spending 7 hours a day hunched over a desk, meticulously taking notes on a heavily-worded article that perhaps isn’t so interesting.

So that’s what I’ve been doing (at work anyway; my free time includes spending plenty of time chilling with the squad) and that’s what it looks like I’ll be up to for the rest of the “researching” portion summer. I do get to fiddle with some data occasionally, but it’s not a significant portion of the project overall (shucks).

This experience is a complete turnaround from the telling I was doing at the credit union last summer. I was hoping to use this summer to learn more about what I’m going to do with the Math & Econ degree I’ll be walking away from Buffalo with in less than two years. And I am pretty sure so far that economics research is not it. Regardless, I’m only two and a half weeks in, so I know my opinion could change, and I’m open to that. And if I don’t change my mind, at least now I know (and also have some pretty radical experience and resume muscle).

I am sending lots of love (and more updates soon, I promise),

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU, Kansas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

