Day Three Update

Yesterday was dedicated to all of our orientation-y things, and the ten of us Sustainable Bioenergy REU students spent most of the day together with our director, Keith. A lot of the orientation included having all of us ride around campus, as well as the city of Manhattan, in a huge K-State van, chatting and listening to music (and occasionally singing along). That evening, we all went out for pizza and when we returned to campus, a handful of us decided to take a walk to check out the bowling alley they have in the Student Union.

Who on earth has a bowling alley on-campus? Kansas State does, that’s who.

I had a fantastic time (despite losing miserably) and that experience was a great way to bond with the rest of the group. From what I’ve seen so far, I’m feeling like we all get along very well, and that’ll make this summer a million times more enjoyable.

Not much going on today. A couple big things being that I have a LOT of articles to read over the next few days and also I officially have my own desk/office/work space. It isn’t much to write home about, but it’s mine for the summer and that’s plenty enough for me. I don’t have any good pictures to show but I know I’ll post when I do get around to that!

I’ve chatted with my graduate student mentor a bit in the past few days about what exactly I’ll be doing this summer… It’s still up in the air, and it may be that way until my faculty mentor returns from an out-of-town research trip next week (I still haven’t met him yet). We have some general ideas (I’ll be studying Agricultural Economics, it’ll be related to bioenergy production) but the specifics of my summer research project are still yet to be decided. It’s a little nerve-wracking because we have to do a presentation on the outline of our research next Thursday, but for now I’m just going to pave my way through my reading and get my background knowledge down.

In the meantime, I am inserting a handful of pictures so you all can see a little bit of what I’ve been seeing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lots of love,

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU, Kansas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day Three Update

  1. karen petrella says:

    Lovin’ me some Maggie right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

