Day One

I’m here! We are blogging live and from beautiful Manhattan, Kansas!

First off, I’m dead tired. It has been a heck of a looooooong day, but a good one. My flights went very smoothly (for the most part). The man who was seated next to me on the first leg of the trip was very friendly and I think he could tell that I was nervous. He spend the takeoff period chatting with me about where we were both travelling and what we had planned for our travels, and the distraction from the nervousness of flying was very nice. When we hit a little bit of turbulence mid-flight, he cracked a joke that made me laugh and shake off some of my worries. After making it through that first flight (from Syracuse to Chicago) with no issues, I handled the second one like a pro, which meant I was able to snap some pictures of my view…

IMG_4245

Luckily, the taxi issues from yesterday had been completely resolved so my cab was waiting for me as I left the second plane, in Kansas. It was quite an interesting ride as the driver was pretty crazy in the cabeza. She jabbered away about this, that, and the other thing, for the whole ride—sometimes into her bluetooth, sometimes to me (most of the time, I couldn’t tell which).

I was so glad to be out of that cab and lucky to run into my roommate, Abbie, on my way in to our dorm, Moore Hall. She helped me check in and find our room, and then we unpacked together, which went pretty quickly for me, thanks to my minimal baggage. Abbie is a sweetheart from Arkansas with a fantastic accent. She is incredibly friendly and we passed the afternoon wandering around K-State’s campus and running errands.

(Side note: Kansas State’s campus is so crazy and unnecessary with buildings spread out all over the darn place… it has made me really appreciate UB’s straightforward “all our buildings are in a line” setup)

It feels really weird to think that I’ll be here, in this place I’ve never been before, with people I’ve never met before, doing things I’ve never done before, for ten whole weeks… That makes me feel super proud of myself. And I’ve made it through Day One.

It also makes me feel super exhausted… I’ve been awake for 18 and a half hours now, so it’s time to crash.

I’m sending lots of love! I miss y’all already.

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU, Kansas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day One

  1. Rachel says:

    You’re going to make all of us back in Buffalo so proud! I can’t wait to learn all about your adventures in Kansas! Is Abbie your first non-Rachel roommate?

    Like

Leave a Reply

