One More Day

Helloooo blogosphere, long time no see

It’s been a crazy two weeks since my last post, with finals week, moving back home, and unpacking while simultaneously re-packing college supplies for storage and also packing for the summer research I’ll be doing in Kansas.

Tomorrow is the big travel day with an early takeoff time of 8:15 in the morning. It’s hard to believe that in less than 24 hours, I’ll be touching down in a completely separate state, and I won’t be coming back to dear old New York for almost ten weeks!

Over the past month or two, the director of the K-State REU (Research Experience for Undergraduates) has been in pretty regular contact with all the participants, although I still don’t quite have a good idea of what specific work/research I’ll be doing. However, I feel pretty well prepared (and excited and completely packed!), even for the flying part, which I’m a bit nervous about.

Packing was quite the endeavor this weekend, especially with the issue of no checked baggage for me! Luckily, I have mad packing skills so I’ve fit a good amount of clothing in my carry-on luggage, and the rest will be mailed to me within week one, so that’s all set. It’s hard to pack frugally while also packing for 10 weeks, but the worst-case scenario is that I do a lot of laundry and a lot of shopping.

I just got a call earlier this afternoon from the taxi service that I arranged to be picking me up… it seems there was a mix-up, and they called me today to ask if I was at the airport yet. Oops! Hopefully there aren’t any issues with that when we have the real deal happening tomorrow. Luckily, the Manhattan Airport is only 10 minutes from K-State (and the center of town), so if the confusion continues, I know I won’t have a long wait.

(Hey, that rhymed.)

I’m so excited for this opportunity but also nervous, and a little sad that I’m turning around to leave home yet again tomorrow. The past week and a half has been fantastic for relaxing and enjoying my family, but I am lucky to have three weeks at the end of the summer to look forward to when I get back!

I am sending lots of love and I will update again soon!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU, Kansas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

