A Big Pond

I’ve mentioned before that on my first-ever visit to UB, I was actually scared a little bit by how large the campus is. I’m definitely a little fish in a big pond here, but I’ve gotten used to it and I can’t say that I mind at all. You know the story—I somehow convinced myself to come back during my senior year and give UB a second look—and I fell in love with it (and I have been ever since). But, no matter how much I love it, the size of this campus plays an important role in my daily life still today.

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, my first class is in the Math Building, and I start Tuesdays and Thursdays in the NSC (Natural Science Complex). These structures sit side-by-side… a mile from my dorm room. You could say I get my miles in every day!

Here's the view of the Math Building from my bed! Hopefully this gives you just a bit of an idea of the distance.

Here’s the view of the Math Building from my bed! Hopefully this gives you just a bit of an idea of the distance.

I usually wake myself up an hour and a half before my first class is due to start, and leave the room 30 minutes before class in order to give myself time to grab a bagel and coffee from the café on the first floor of my dorm hall, and hopefully get to class with a minute or two to spare so I can snag a good seat.

On the bright side, living in the Hadley Village on-campus apartments will put me less than five minutes from the very same Math Building, so living there next year will probably mean sleeping in just a smidge later than I would if I had to make the longer trek from here at Greiner Hall.

Some other upsides to the huge campus: being able to mix up the route whenever I go for a run, way more dining options than a smaller college, and being able to go explore the campus and still find new places even after living here for two years.

So, living in a big pond can have its disadvantages, but I don’t think I would change a thing. A big school means big opportunities, and I love it all.

I’m sending lots of love,

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

