There’s No Place Like Home…?

I spend a lot of time thinking about where home is for me, especially during the times when I’m travelling to and from Liverpool and Buffalo. Travelling stresses me out a bit because I always feel out-of-place when I reach my destination, like I need to readjust and acclimate myself to the location, no matter how much of my life I spend or have spent there in the past.

I haven’t been travelling recently but it’s still been on my mind. I’d say that part of the reason I feel so at home at school because of the routines I have, whether it be my schedule or some little habits that I use to occupy my time. Also, since I spend so much time here in a relatively long-term living space, my dorm room, I do what I can to bring the feeling of my Liverpool home here. Whether it’s covering the walls in pictures of family and old friends (plus some new ones), giving my nearly-two-decade-old stuffed rabbit a permanent place on my pillow, or brewing some of dad’s home-roasted coffee in the Keurig, I’m surrounded by the feeling of homeliness without the atmosphere of home. I’ve got the little old white fridge that barely keeps my ice cream at milkshake consistency, the same alarm clock I’ve had since elementary school, and a mug that I nabbed from the kitchen cabinet.

I’m constantly making myself comfortable here in Buffalo, my home-away-from-home. No matter how comfy I am here, though, the “away-from-home” part is always included in that—with family is always where I feel really at home.

Lots of love,

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s No Place Like Home…?

  1. Daddy P says:

    Even though you are not at your Liverpool home, you are here in my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

