Distinguished Speaker Series

Last Wednesday, I was able to spend the evening attending a lecture by Robert Ballard, who is most well-known for his discovery of the sunken Titanic. I was super pumped that he was coming to speak here because I owned a Titanic book during my late elementary and middle school years and, though I don’t know where it is now, I remember that I loved it. It was a blast to listen to him talk about his underwater adventures and his goals for the future of undersea exploration.

UB hosts a series of similar events, called the Distinguished Speakers Series, every year. Notable people and speakers are brought to UB every month or so to give an hour-ish long lecture to students (and the general public, but students get in for free). Some pretty spectacular people we’ve had before Robert Ballard include Hillary Clinton and Malcolm Gladwell (an amazing author whose books everyone should aspire to read), both of whom were absolutely awesome.

I really enjoyed Robert Ballard’s seminar, but what struck me most about the experience is that I feel really lucky to be attending a large school where I have numerous opportunities to be exposed to so many people who are offering their inspiration and advice and sharing their stories with me. My opportunities have already gone beyond what I expected out of college, and listening to Robert Ballard speak is just one example of many. I love knowing that there are even more ahead of me.

Lots of love,

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

