Known By Name

It’s interesting what types of things can make a difference in the day of a college student. I’ve been going to my math professor’s office hours about every other week, just stopping by to ask a few quick questions, get some clarifications, and make sure that the professor knows who I am. Whenever I visit, I make sure to remind him that I’m Maggie, and then I just hope that sticks with him. It’s nice to know that a professor remembers you, because he’ll be more willing to help you out when you’re really in a bind, and on top of that, professors are pretty cool people.

Today in class I had a question about a proof that Dr. Cusick was doing on the chalkboard and when I raised my hand, he addressed me by name, which brightened my morning significantly. That class has been a bit of a challenge because it’s nothing like any math class I’ve taken before… Numbers are a rarity and algebra sense, which has always been a given in math, must be analyzed and torn down to the basics and explained. We had our first exam on Friday and I think it went pretty well (I’ll find out for sure on Wednesday morning).

I’ve been pretty bad about posting frequently—it’s been an incredibly busy few weeks and I have been working on a super-duper exciting “project” that I will be posting more information about later this week (I promise).

Lots of love!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

