Welcome, 2015

Being home has been unbelievably wonderful. It is certainly helpful that I’m keeping myself busy by continuing full-time work at the credit union and have some long(ish)-term projects that occupy and entertain me in my free time. I’m preparing myself for next semester, picking up a few books I’ve been meaning to read, and looking into academic opportunities for the summer as well!

For those of my wonderful readers who don’t live within the immediately local area, I am supplying some highlights from the week or so:

First and foremost, of course, is sleep. I’ve been doing my best to get back onto a real-world sleep schedule, making myself go to bed at a reasonable time and wake up before noon (and hopefully before 10 am), even on the weekends—although it’s been making work a lot easier, too. The college sleep schedule is less than ideal for break, even if it gets the job done during the semester.

This was the view I was rewarded with upon arrival at work yesterday... The sleep is necessary to be able to enjoy such early mornings.

This was the view I was rewarded with upon arrival at work yesterday… The sleep is necessary to be able to enjoy such early mornings.

After a very relaxing and fun Christmas, we followed up with a very relaxing and fun weekend. Honestly, nothing much happened, but it felt so freeing to have so much time without a long list of homework assignments to do (something I’m still getting used to, even if it’ll only last a few more weeks).

A surprise visit from Jean, a friend I graduated with, who is currently serving in the Coast Guard. He was only in town for a few days and stopped by to see me one evening. Dad came upstairs and told me that Mom was looking for me, but when I came down the hall to the kitchen, who should jump out but Jean—startling me so much that I yelped. Besides Jean, I’ve met up with a couple more of my high school peeps before we all go our separate ways for next semester.

I’ve also been keeping in touch with many of my friends from Buffalo, talking to Sanjee and Meg and Tristan daily, as well as others. Being able to keep in touch so easily has made the college-sickness of such a long break bearable.

Skating at Clinton Square!

Skating at Clinton Square!

I had a wonderful time ringing in 2015 with family and family friends, as well as the boyfriend (who spent the afternoon ice skating and wandering around Carousel Mall with me, in addition to providing a generous amount of entertainment to the littlest Petrellas). It wasn’t quite as awesome to stay up until midnight this year, maybe because college has taken away the fun of it, and maybe because I was just plain exhausted. Today, the fam traipsed over to Nanni and Poppi’s for the traditional New Year’s Day supper of lasagna, which was amazing as usual.

IMG_3334  FullSizeRender-4

Break has been absolutely wonderful so far, especially getting to spend so much time with my family. I’m grateful to have over three more weeks at home!

Lots of love,

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

