Lows and Highs

This week started off with a serious case of the travel blues. I’ve talked before about how tough it can be to make the transition between school life and home life, and vice versa. Despite sleeping really well at home (in my nice, comfy, BIG bed), I think I was still a bit behind on my sleep, too, and the whole situation just left me struggling to get through the first half of the week. It just felt as if, no matter what I was doing, something was off. Luckily, I’ve got good parents who will talk me through emotional moments, a patient and caring boyfriend, and a really supportive group of friends that I can lean on when I’m feeling out of it.

The view of the lake from Baird Point... at night!

The view of the lake from Baird Point… at night!

The second half of this week, though, things really turned around and I feel readjusted. Thursday was a particularly good day because I got to go to the high school with Meg and we had a great time (as usual). It’s always relaxing to be there because I just leave all of my college worries right at the door and take a few hours to just focus on being fully present. When I came home that night, I went on a great run and instead of showering afterwards, I threw on sweatpants and went to the library. Gross, I know, but it was a very liberating experience. Going to a big college is nice because I knew that the very few friends I was likely to run into wouldn’t really care that I was dressed (and smelling) down, and any strangers I saw who did care—well, I probably won’t see them again. I spent about four hours in the “silent study” section just working. It was one of those times where I just immersed myself in being productive and lost track of time without feeling bored or worn-down. I’ve often found that it’s a lot easier to get stuff done when I’m on my own and also not in my dorm room, where’s it is too easy to get distracted. In the library, though, the atmosphere is completely work-centered, which is really very helpful.

I was lucky enough that my productive streak continued to Friday afternoon and so for the past 24 hours or so, I’ve been doing a lot of relaxing. There is still homework to be done this weekend, of course, but I have definitely earned a break. (I didn’t even get out of bed until noon today, which was amazing.)

Fall is completely taking over UB and it's gorgeous... I loved the contrast between the sky and the colors of the trees on this day.

Fall is completely taking over UB and it’s gorgeous… I loved the contrast between the sky and the colors of the trees on this day.

On a side note, I feel compelled to mention that having a drugstore on campus is such a godsend. (Technically, the Commons—where CVS and a few other small shops are located—is considered “off campus” but it’s literally 100 feet from the Student Union so it counts.) I think I’ve had a legitimate need to stop by CVS at least every other day this week and the accessibility was more useful than I can put in words.

I’m sending lots of love and I miss you guys already.

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lows and Highs

  1. Rosie says:

    I can’t wait to see you only four more
    Weeks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grandma Connolly says:

    Maggie, Loved your pictures and so glad that you were able to get your work caught up so you could get some shut eye on the weekend. Love you . Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

