Homecoming Weekend

Saturday was the day of the homecoming football game, and Campus Ambassadors was holding a pig roast at the tailgate party beforehand. Basically, a few hours before every football game, different clubs and groups set up shop on a parking lot by Baird Point and pass out food or tee shirts, play games, or perform for all the students who go to the tailgate. It gets a little crazy there because there’s so much going on! I’ve actually never been to a UB tailgate (or football game for that matter) as a non-band member, and it’s a whole new experience. So anyway, CA was just hanging out at our stand and having a good time handing out burgers, hot dogs, and pulled pork to anyone who stopped by. It was an absolutely gorgeous day and of course that made everything that much better (sometimes it’s hard to get yourself to go outside when there’s a lot of work to be done). The ski/snowboard club next to us set up a makeshift slip-and-slide down a hill using plastic and dishsoap, and it was really entertaining to watch everyone over there being silly and slip-sliding around. I didn’t make it to the football game afterwards because I was pooped by the time it started, but I spent the rest of the afternoon trying to be productive and overall it was a lovely day.

Yesterday was the day of the Linda Yalem 5K—I was so pumped to be able to participate in this again! So far this semester, I’ve been pretty good about running and keeping up with the paces and distances I ran over the summer, so I felt great about the race overall. It was nice to run with so many other people around—I feel like it’s that much more motivation and you have this group feeling of togetherness with all these people that you don’t even know. If nothing else, it’s a nice way to get a break from the “same old, same old” of running alone.

This weekend was busy and fun (and I still managed to be productive), but I’m dead tired. What I want more than anything else is a free day where I can just sleep. I know, I know… you’re thinking, “Maggie, don’t be daft, that’s what the weekend is for.” But even if I had a weekend without any time commitments, a day of sleep would be a pretty difficult event to manage because of the crazy workload that is this semester. Even just a three-day weekend would be a godsend… but alas, my next “non-weekend” day off is Thanksgiving week. (They expect us to make it all the way from Labor Day to Thanksgiving without stopping…ouch. I think UB has something strong against Christopher Columbus, much to the chagrin of the student population.) Ah, well. Keep me in your prayers that I can handle this stretch and manage to keep my patience with those around me in the process.

I’m sending my love.

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

