The First Few Days of The Week

As a sweeping generalization, I think we can all agree that the first few days of the week are the hardest ones. I have been feeling the effects of this unfortunate truth rather strongly this semester.

As you guys know, I have two sets of classes—the Monday/Wednesday/Friday classes, and the Tuesday/Thursday classes. This is definitely a good thing because it mixes up the week and makes each and every day a little different. However, all of my professors tend to assign week (or multi-week) homework assignments at the beginning of each week… which, don’t get me wrong, makes perfect sense. There’s no guesswork of when the next homework assignment will pop up; everything is structured and predictable.

On the other hand, when I look at my daily to-do list on the evening of a Monday, Tuesday, or even Wednesday, it’s absolutely overwhelming. I’m one of those people that can’t really relax until all the homework is done, because if it isn’t, I’ll have this nagging feeling in the back of my mind that there’s still more to do.

Homework assignments that are weeklong (as opposed to short ones which would be due next class, or long-term projects assigned a few weeks to a month in advance) are a wee bit annoying because there’s the urgency of a foreseeable due date, but the breadth and magnitude is reminiscent of a lengthier and more daunting assignment. The sensation is that the pressure is on to get more done, sooner.

I’m trying to get used to the feeling because I know that it’s not possible to even try to get everything done the night it’s assigned. I would turn into a crazy person and rip my hair out and talk to myself (wait… I already do talk to myself—perhaps it’s a warning sign?).

But on the other hand, I really cannot get lackadaisical this semester. A lot of my classes are graded with heavy weight on exams, so if I fall behind on the material, I’m afraid it could bite me. Hard.

I’ve got to find a balance (I say this a lot).

My goal is to try to view my week-assignments as projects to be chopped up into pieces and chipped away at. Do a couple of problems for each one every night, and then wrap up the parts and finalize over the weekend. I’ve got the plan for handling the first few days of the week, I’ve just got to get used to it.

It was so good to see you all this weekend, and I really do miss you already. I am sending lots of love.

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Few Days of The Week

  1. Rule Of 8 says:

    Hi Maggie, I really like your blog! Really honest reflection on student life! I also struggle massively with balance and its something i’m really trying to come to terms with of late. If you like, you could check out my blog – http://ruleof8.wordpress.com/ – as its all about trying to help students get balance!
    Do you have any tips or tricks that you use to try and balance all the workloads?
    Thanks, Paris 🙂

    Like

  2. Grandma Connolly says:

    Maggie, I admire your ability to think things through. You really are amazing. I thing just the ability to do that will help you in your future. Love you. Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

