Weekending

I am crazy busy. Crazy. I’m pretty sure I’ve established a pretty solid routine and I’m in the weekly groove of going through the same schedule every five days. I’ve filled up my weeks with classes, volunteering schedules, and blocked off my chunks of free time for club meetings, homework in the library or lounge, getting lunch, or running. Sometimes I feel like I haven’t taken much Maggie time. This makes me a little nervous because I know that if I feel overworked or haven’t taken enough of that Maggie time, I could fall into a permanent spell of Maggie time that is next to impossible to escape from.

Keeping this in mind, I’ve been trying to maintain a nearly-constant working mindset for most weekday afternoons (with mini-breaks every half hour or so), and then saving the super chunks of Maggie time for the evenings when I know I’ll decide to be done for the night. Then I can zone out into oblivion without worrying about having to snap out of it, because the only important event that’s left for the day is bedtime.

I think that this weekend is a pretty good example of keeping that balance. Sanjee and I have been spending our afternoons in Davis Hall (the computer science building) because it’s quiet and air-conditioned and has places that are good for sitting and focusing. We go up to “our spot” on the third floor and work until (1) we’re done, (2) our computers die, or (3) we just can’t take it anymore. Yesterday, we went home at about dinnertime and cleaned the room as a mentally cathartic break (which happened to still feel very productive). After those few hours of straight working, I worked in a more relaxed manner because we were on quite the streak, and eventually didn’t even feel the need to keep trying to work (or even think about working) too much. I had already far surpassed my expectations of productivity for the day. I was able to chill out and visit with Erika and Gabi, who were visiting from Geneseo.

Today, Sanj and I are back at the Davis Hall grind and I feel great about how much had been accomplished this weekend.

What an exciting weekend, right? It sounds boring but it was nice to be able to really and fully appreciate my free times.

I think I’m ready to take on this week (I think). I am sending love your way!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

