Volunteering Week 1

Although last week was the first week of classes, this week was the first one that actually had me going to my volunteering sites. Tuesday evening, I took the train into the city of Buffalo to spend a few hours at a soup kitchen called Friends of Night People. Yesterday afternoon I spent at South Park High School with Megan (it was the first day for the students there too!).

An overview of my schedule this semester:

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 10.41.27 AM

Shades of blue are math classes, shades of green are economics classes, purple is band, and the red and orange are volunteering.

I feel as though I’m only taking 13 credits of “normal” classes this semester. As a reference, the total of 19 credits (listed on the side of the chart) is actually a normal number. But two of those 19 credits are band, which is attendance-based and not a lecture class. Four more of them are for my South Park internship volunteering (3) and volunteering at the soup kitchen (1). I write weekly reflective journals about those experiences and there will be a final paper due at the end of the semester for each of them. They still don’t feel like actual classes, mainly because neither involves regularly meeting in a classroom and taking notes.

I had a pretty good time at both sites this week. I was particularly worried about getting to Friends of Night People because it involves a long commute but thankfully, it all worked out very well and I’m looking forward to going back in a week. South Park, similarly, was a great experience (as usual). Like I mentioned before, it was the student’ first day of classes so there was not much content happening; the teacher just went over the syllabus and talked about safety during Chem lab. Basic beginning-of-the-year stuff.

I’m one class away from the weekend… Fridays are great. I am sending my love!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

