Seminar Vent Session

Three hours is way too long for a class. Especially on a Monday.

I don’t know if this is just me or if the other students who are taking seminars that are three hours feel the same way (actually I’m pretty sure it’s not just me), but it is a rough process. For one, my attention span does not last that long. Not even close. I consider myself pretty attentive during class, but by the end of that one, I really want to just close my eyes and make everything around me go away.

One of the unfortunate consequences of having such a long class is that your patience decreases rapidly as time goes on. Even if I’m at superhuman patience level at 3 o’clock, I will be murderous by the time 6 rolls around. This is something I’m still getting used to.

The duration of the lecture is made even more unbearable by the fact that I cannot stand the professor. I have a very choice set of words for the man who texted through the presentation I gave in class this week, which also happens to be worth 18% of my final grade in that class. I could go on and on about how much he bothers me but that is unnecessary at the moment, as I am currently not riled up about the issue, and nor would I like to be.

I think this is a wise choice.

I think that there’s a particular amount of tension surrounding this class because we have to spend a certain number of hours per week in a local school. That’s not so much an issue as the stress surrounding the set-up and organization of the school visits. We are still trying to figure out where and when and how we’ll be volunteering and not having a plan is very nerve-wracking for me.

Okay. That’s all the venting I’ll allow myself to do right now. I love you guys lots and I miss you!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

