Taking a Break

Yesterday I got to experience the incredible surprise of seeing four of my New York City friends from college. My friend Will messaged me in the afternoon and asked if I could go on Oovoo (our main source of communication, like Skype or FaceTime). At the time, I had no idea what was up and I figured there were more of us online and that we could have a multi-person video call and all talk… But when he called me, there was not one person on the other end of the video feed, but four! A few of the hallmates who all live in the NYC/Jersey area apparently all decided to meet together at a coffee shop and once they were there, they gave me a call! It was such a great surprise and we ended up talking for over an hour. Hearing from those guys made my day. College friends become family in the same way that high school friends do over time, except I think it happens to the college friends faster because you see them not only in classes and clubs, but you live with them as well.

It was especially nice because most of my high school friends have already returned to their respective colleges, so there’s not much in the way of fun stuff left to do during the weekdays. However. I’m not complaining about break or taking it for granted. All this time off is such a blessing. Because of the Idaho trip and Christmas and then the ADK trip, my life was a little bit busier during the first half of my winter break. But this, being home alone for so many hours a day is lovely. (I’ve gotten used to it now.) I’ve been sleeping in (almost caught up on my sleep!) and vegetating and making dinner for fun and shopping and doing get-ready-to-go-back things like job apps and ordering textbooks. At my leisure, of course.

A strange thing about break at this point is missing both my home friends (my high school friends) and my Buffalo friends. I’m lucky to have you guys, hmm?

Lots of love chilluns.

Maggie

IMG_0008

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

