The First-Semester 4.0

Happy New Year!!!

Early January is always a time for creating new resolutions and making changes for the better… Unfortunately, I am currently lacking the motivation and the wit for a new-year-themed post today, so we’re going to talk about something that is rather of the opposite sentiment: the phenomenon I have been referring to (in all my conversations with myself) the First-Semester 4.0. Official grades from the fall semester are in!

(Side note: this is of the opposite sentiment of the New Year feeling because the First-Semester 4.0 implies that nothing needs to be changed, and I’m a little wary to talk about this because I don’t want to come off as pretentious or as if I’m taking that number for granted…I did not have a perfect semester: I had some really rough quizzes and exams, forgot a few homework assignments and gave up on others, and definitely could’ve done a more efficient job studying. Please make any and all judgments of this post with consideration. Exits are at the top left and right of the screen. And now, our feature presentation.) (That was a movie theater joke.)

I’m not sure if it’s because the first semester of college is pretty slow since most college freshmen are taking a majority of their general eds. that semester, or if I’m just exposed to only smart people, or if the people who missed the FS 4.0 just didn’t advertise it (or if I’m just oblivious), but it seems to me that nearly everyone I know pulled straight A’s this semester. So when Mom congratulated me when I figured out that I had, too, I didn’t really care. It’s not special if everyone’s doing it, right? Scrolling through Facebook last month was really boring because all I saw was “4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0…” Okay, guys. We get the point. Shut up about it, for crying out loud.

Okay, disclaimer time. If you don’t share in the FS 4.0 festivities, that’s no big deal either. It’s not a representation of your intelligence. College is really different from high school and making the change can be difficult and impact your grades. Or maybe you’re jumping right into classes in your major with less of the general education credits; that’ll be difficult, too. Whatever the reason, if you gave your first semester your all, be proud of yourself.

Here’s something you might not know: colleges don’t like to hand out 4.0s. It makes them look too easy and if a lot of graduates of a specific university ended their college careers with perfect scores, but don’t produce similar results when they enter the workforce, a diploma with that college’s name on it start to lose its value. So, the way I see it, the next few semesters will start to produce different numbers. And that’s okay. It means that we’re real and that college is real. But you bet your high-school diploma that I’m going to keep aiming for the four.

I’m not a huge fan of the Honors College motto (Non scholae sed vitae discimus, or “We learn, not for school, but for life” –Seneca), but when you start talking about numbers, it comes in handy. I’ll be happy as long as I keep on learning things that’ll help me in the future. That’s why I’m here.

Lots of love, Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

