It’s good to be home.

It’s good to be home. After my last college-related traveling run to Boise, Idaho, to march at the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl, I’m done for the year. I’m still a bit behind on my sleep and my bedroom hasn’t quite recovered from the unpacking-packing-unpacking experience, but it is certainly good to be home. It even feels like a regular winter break because I’ve essentially started the break life at the same time as you guys (but that’ll change when you all go back to school in January, hehe).

I am so pumped to be able to do “home” things and I’ve even fallen back into old ritual-habits that were second nature before college but I do differently when I’m in Buffalo. Example: at college I use a little bag to hold all my toiletries (i.e. toothbrush, soap and towel, lotion) for easy carrying to and from the bathroom, but at home it was always habit to leave that stuff there. For some reason I decided to keep using the bag-method of carrying back and forth (the whole five feet… I know right? Such a struggle) instead of just dumping my stuff on the bathroom counter, but every day so far after I’ve finished brushing my teeth, I have mindlessly dropped my toothbrush back into the toothbrush holder on the counter. It’s like I can’t stop my arm from moving that way. Brush, rinse, drop; it’s all automatic. I guess old habits die hard…and in the fight between years-long habits and months-long habits, the years win.

Long story short, being at home is natural. Being at UB is becoming more natural with every day I spend there and I’m adapting to the new college lifestyle, but there’s not a single place like home. Home is where I can play ping-pong on a whim with Ben at 10:30 pm even though I should be going to bed, and where I can bake a raspberry cheesecake pie with Rosie, and where I can build train tracks for hours with Brady. It’s where I can drive Victor (our Taurus station wagon) around streets that are as familiar as the back of my hand, leave my bedroom without locking the door behind me, and make lunch from the fridge instead of going out. College makes you appreciate the little things. And smile at stuff like toothbrushes.

Merry Christmas and lots of love,

Maggie

1223132336 DSC01519

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s good to be home.

  1. Grandma Connolly says:

    Maggie, You are an inspiration. The first year is the hardest at college, it’s such a challenge to become responsible for yourself and to have to acclimate yourself to the new surroundings and to new people. You have handled it beautifully. We’re proud of you. Love and hugs Grandma Connolly

    Like

Leave a Reply

