Happy Thanksgiving!

In the spirit of the season, what I am thankful for this year (really original, I know).

Things I’m Thankful For: College Freshman Edition

1. Being home, with family.

I’ve been home for a weekend before, but having FIVE days at home instead of two is unbelievably amazing. It is time to relax and catch up with the family and just enjoy the feeling of being home. It’s like a whole different world here, one that I did miss despite how much I’m enjoying the independent college life.

2. Having safe travels.

My traveling on Tuesday was relatively mild (especially compared to all of my NYC friends) and safe, too, even though Dad and I spent an extra hour on the road. This one is a somewhat preemptive thankfulness, since I have plenty of travel time to and from Buffalo tomorrow, and then back again on Sunday (but so far, so good).

3. Sleep. My bed. My room.

Three things I have sorely missed for the past few months. My roommate and I are lucky to get along very well, but it’s nice to be able to get up without worrying about the noise from shifting around bothering anyone else. My home bed is a luxury because I have the room to roll over without falling off the bed, which I unfortunately cannot say for my UB bed. And sleeping until noon for a few days in a row is nice too (nice being the understatement of the year).

4. Being able to spend time with my high school friends.

It is so cool to see where everyone is and how their first semesters have gone. My friends and I are having vastly different experiences, and I love being able to reconnect with them and share about our lives. Of course they were all jealous that they didn’t decide to go to UB but some things must be (just kidding, everyone I talked to is loving and thriving in college life).

5. College.

Even though I’m not there now, and even though I am glad to be home, I do love UB. I love being independent (while still holding tightly to my FaceTime conversations with you all, and enjoying every care package and visit home). I love learning (though possibly not Computer Science). I love the new diverse crowd of people I have met there, and the ones I’m already close enough with to call my second family.

I love you lots!

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

