…I’m Still Alive

It’s been a while, huh? I feel like not much has happened since I came back but it has been about two weeks, so I guess it’s been a while.

Yesterday was Hillary Clinton day! It was such a treat to be able to see her and listen to her speak. I love that college has exposed me to such experiences as seeing President Obama, and now Secretary Clinton. Next month, Malcolm Gladwell (an absolutely amazing author) will be here too, and hopefully I’ll be able to go see him as well. One of my favorite moments about Secretary Clinton’s talk was when an audience member started screaming (rather impolitely) “Talk about Benghazi, talk about Benghazi!” and she just kept on going with her speech, saying, “We can’t move from crisis to crisis. We have to be willing to come together as citizens to focus on the kind of future we want… which doesn’t include yelling. It includes sitting down and talking.” It was the perfect balance of sass and classiness, and the entire audience gave her a standing ovation.

Image

As for the events of the past few weeks, I have also developed a cold (which is very unfortunate… living in a dorm combined with limited sleep combined with the crazy Buffalo weather caught up with me), but fortunately, I have the ability to deal with that. DayQuil and NyQuil are my heroes. Also, tea.

Something I’ve discovered about college life and myself is that my ability to make rational decisions is massively hindered by a lack of sleep and/or relaxation… So, this past week, I decided to take a few days to recuperate and get myself back into a “real human being” state of mind: I went to bed as early as possible for four nights in a row and made sleep my priority, and I also prohibited myself from listening to music (because I know that music, being an emotional thing, gives me emotions that might not be my own and make me feel better or worse than I actually am). It’s good to be able to identify what makes me grumpy or sad or cranky. So, for future reference, the sleep-recovery music-purge worked fantastically. I felt absolutely wonderful by the end of the four days (although I admit that going that long without music was incredibly difficult, homework time in my room was so quiet) and I’m thinking about making it a habit to do every once in a while. It got me into a rational state of mind to make reasonable decisions and feel happy.

Image

I miss you guys lots and I love hearing from/about you! (Benny, I’m stalking you on TullyRunners…)

I will fill you in on more later, I have World Civ soon. (Speaking of class, next week I get to register for my spring classes, so an upcoming blog post will fill you in on that!)

Lots of love,

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to …I’m Still Alive

  1. Grandma Connolly says:

    Maggie, You are so wise for your years! Glad you were able to beat the cold. The Connolly part of the family is very much dependent on a good amount of sleep. I don’t function well if I don’t get at least 7. I prefer 8. I know that’s impossible for you, but you seem to be attuned to what your body is telling you. Good for you. Love and hugs Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

