Home Sweet Dorm

Image

Storytime, children! Let’s take a little peek into dorm life, where every single day is a crazy unpredictable adventure.

At about 9 am on Tuesday, I was wandering around the dorms after my run and the fire alarm went off… Now this is not just any old fire alarm that goes BEE DOO BEE DOO BEE DOO or BEEP BEEP BEEP or anything. It’s a creepy male voice that tells you “An emergency has been reported. Please wait in the corridor for instructions” (but you’re really just supposed to evacuate). So anyways, the creepy fire alarm voice goes off and so I head outside, and that’s where things start to get funny.

I had just returned from a run so of course the first thing I did when I got to my room was take off my shoes. But when the alarm went off, I just decided to go outside in my socks… no big deal, right?

Wrong. Big deal, because the Governors geese have decided that the sidewalk (as opposed to the grass) is the best place to take a dump. So the first thing I did after dutifully exiting the potentially hazardous dormitory was to stick my lovely socks into some fewmets. (I promptly removed them to throw them out. There was no hope for those socks after that experience.)

It turns out the building wasn’t burning or anything. Everyone was laughing about how silly the situation was. I guess somehow fire drills have the effect of bringing everyone together. My poor friend Jack had been caught in the middle of a shower and was stuck waiting outside in minimal clothing and a towel, and this of course was incredibly amusing.

You know what they say about karma, though, because as soon as we re-entered the building and I had hopped into the shower…there goes the creepy voice again. I panicked and skipped the whole idea of putting on clothes in favor of just wrapping myself in my towel and getting out ASAP. I had to wait outside, with all these people I will be living with for the next two semesters, in solely a towel and my shower flip-flops. This was probably my most embarrassing moment here at UB so far…add this to the fact that I came face-to-face with the very guy who I had just started dating literally the evening before, and I thought I would just die on the spot. It was terrible and hilarious at the same time and I didn’t know if I wanted to cry or laugh more. (On that note…more on the college dating scene later, loves.)

I went inside a second time, finished my shower, and there goes the creepy voice alarm yet again. This time, I had the common sense to properly clothe and shoe myself before running around outside. (First try: no shoes. Second try: no clothes. Third time’s the charm, and thank goodness for that.) After that drill (and actually I’m pretty sure the alarms were just malfunctioning), I grabbed my books for class and got as far away from that unfortunate building as I could.

It was annoying, it was embarrassing, and it was a pain in the rear, but that was one of the funniest mornings of my life. You have so much to look forward to. It’s this kind of thing I know I’ll never forget (and I don’t mean that in the emotionally scarred way).

I hope you can get as much of a laugh out of this as I did! I miss you and I love you lots.

Maggie

About Maggie

UB Student. Liverpudlian. Book reader. Food lover. Christian. Writer. Office supply fanatic. Big sister. Math geek. Coffee addict. Listener.
This entry was posted in BRBU and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

